NJPW WrestleKingdom 11 Preview & Predictions

WrestleKingdom 11 preview

Photo: NJPW

🎶🎵🎶 It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
With the kids jingle belling,
And everyone telling you “Be of good cheer”.
It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
It’s the hap -happiest season of all. 🎶🎵🎶

Yes, it is the most wonderful time of the year. It is time for NJPW’s WrestleKingdom 11. New Japan will be kicking off 2017 in style with their biggest show of the year, and I, for one, cannot wait. This is my favorite wrestling show, and this year’s is set to be one of the best ever.

The big show is only a few days away, so I am here with a full preview and breakdown of the card and my own predictions. Of course, I predict that Tana will have some stupid hairdo, Okada will make it rain Okada Bucks, and Naito will take forever and a day to get to the ring. But, those are the easy ones. Predicting the winners and losers will be a bit more difficult.

First off, let’s set up the essentials.

  • Date: Wednesday, January 4, 2017.
  • Where To Watch: NJPW World (no, NJPW World is not a free service. It is NJPW’s streaming service, and it costs 999¥ per month. That’s $8.54 US. All you need to do is go to the site and sign up.).
  • Streams: NJPW will have both the traditional Japanese commentary (with Masahiro Chono as a guess commentator for the event) and an English commentary stream (Kevin Kelly and Steve Corino are scheduled to provide the English commentary).
  • Start Time: Let’s see if I can cover all the bases…
    • Preshow/NJPW Rumble: This part of the show begins at 15:30 Tokyo time (the Rumble, according to NJPW’s site, will start sometime around 16:00 Tokyo time). Converted to other time zones, it begins at:
      • 6:30 am London, UK, and Dublin, Ireland time
      • 7:30 am Munich, Germany time
      • 1:30 am EST
      • 12:30 am CST
      • 11:30 pm MST
      • 10:30 PST
      • 8:30 pm Honolulu time on January 3, 2017
    • Main Card: This part of the show begins at 17:00 Tokyo time. Converted to other time zones, it begins at:
      • 8:00 am London, UK, and Dublin, Ireland time
      • 9:00 am Munich, Germany time
      • 3:00 am EST
      • 2:00 am CST
      • 1:00 am MST
      • 12:00 am PST
      • 10:00 pm Honolulu time on January 3, 2017

Ok, I think that covers the major timezones. If I missed one, let me know and I will try to do the maths again without my head exploding.

WrestleKingdom 11 Match Card

NJPW Rumble.

Tiger Mask W vs Tiger The Dark (if logic prevails, this will be Kota Ibushi vs ACH).

IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship
The Young Bucks vs Roppongi Vice.

NEVER Openweight Six Man Tag Title Gauntlet Match
Satoshi Kojima, David Finlay, & Ricochet vs Jado, Will Ospreay, & YOSHI-HASHI vs Hangman Page, Yujiro Takahashi, & Bad Luck Fale vs SANADA, BUSHI, & EVIL.

Special Singles Match
Cody Rhodes vs Juice Robinson.

ROH World Title
Kyle O’Reilly vs Adam Cole.

IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship
Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa vs Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma vs Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano.

IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship
KUSHIDA vs Hiromu Takahashi.

NEVER Openweight Title
Katsuyori Shibata vs Hirooki Goto.

IWGP Intercontinental Championship
Tetsuya Naito vs Hiroshi Tanahashi.

IWGP Heavyweight Championship
Kazuchika Okada vs Kenny Omega.

Now that all the basics are identified, let’s get on with the preview and predictions.

Click next to continue with our WrestleKingdom 11 preview.



  • Mary Donna Olade

    explain the eye thing

  • Abbey

    It’s from his time in Mexico. The fans there would basically taunt him about not being able to see (due to his being from Japan and the stereotypical narrow eyes of Japanese people). So, he’s taunt them right back with the eye thing…holding it open so he could “see”. He got a good reaction, so he kept it as a kind of signature part of his character.